Report Editor, Save v. Save As confusion (usability improvement) Hot

by Steve Dieckbrader on June 02, 2015

Save vs. Save As has a bug and a usability issue that results in user error and data "corruption".

  • Problem: Edit an existing report. Up until Step 4, Save Report, a Save As button appears. Not until you get to step 4 does the Save button show, allowing you to save modifications to the same report. Users who make a quick change to a Search Filter in step 2, see only the Save As button. Now I know, Save and Save As mean entirely different things, but users in a hurry (which most people are these days), will click the Save As button, then OK, with the intent of merely modifying their existing report. The really bad thing is this "mistake" results in a duplicate report. This part is a bug, I believe. In the past, one was not allowed to save a report having a duplicate name of the same access level (public vs. private). Recommendation: Do not show Save As until you get to step 4. There, show BOTH Save and Save As. Only at this point in the wizard process is the user focused on the task of actually saving, and here alone will they more likely make the correct choice.

    Ideas

    Status
  • Please login to view any attachments.

  • This idea has not received any votes within 24 months of its submission. It has now been closed (declined) due to insufficient support.
    David J. Easter Commented by David J. Easter June 04, 2018
    #1 Reviewer  -  

    This idea has not received any votes within 24 months of its submission. It has now been closed (declined) due to insufficient support.

     

PrintEmail

Recent Tweets